Butterflies Galore

ds DSC_0048a1
Dingy skipper at Foulden Common

May 5th 2017.  After two weeks of cloud and cold northerly winds a day of clear blue skies.  Being my day off work I was chomping at the bit to get out.  The wind was still a fresh north-east but sheltered sites should be good.  I decided on Foulden Common as I wanted dingy skipper images, and I wasn’t disappointed, the place was alive with butterflies.  Big numbers of brimstone and orange tip, several holly blue, a variety of whites but most importantly over 20 dingies and 2 grizzled skippers.

hg DSC_0158a Green Hairstreak
Green hairstreak, Wiveton Downs

After several pleasant hours I moved to a new site for me Wiveton Downs.  Less butterflies here but had superb views of a gorgeous green hairstreak and the bonus of 2 wall browns.

So good was the day out I have put together a portfolio on the HOME page.

DSC_0301a
Cley church from the top of Wiveton Downs
Leave a Reply

